The Board of Review system was established by the Wisconsin Statutes to give taxpayers a method of appealing their property assessments.  Before beginning this appeal process, you can informally appeal to the City Assessor’s office.  Sometimes, a telephone call and/or an informal discussion with the Assessor may help you understand your assessment and no further action may be required.  If you would like your property reviewed by the Assessor’s Office, you must complete a Request for Review form.  Call (414) 768-8052 for more information.  After the Assessor’s Office reviews the information and conducts an interior inspection of the property, a determination will be made regarding the present value.  If you still feel that your assessment does not accurately reflect the condition and value of your property, you should apply for a formal hearing before the Board of Review.  The Board of Review consists of five citizens of the City of South Milwaukee that are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Common Council.  They sit in an open hearing, much like a judge or jury, and listen to the testimony, ask questions for clarification, and then make their decision. 

To formally appeal the assessment for your property, please contact the City Clerk’s office at (414) 762-2222.

Board of Review Terms:
Tom Bellart            4/30/2022
Gregory Dufek      4/30/2020
John Haslam         4/30/2021
Carol Bzdawka      4/30/2023
Sharon Mehre       4/30/2021
Donna M. Plotz (alternate)    4/30/2022
Vacant (2nd alternate)

The first Board of Review meeting will be Tuesday, May 8, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. then adjourn until Wednesday, August 22, 2018,
1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
To appear before the Board of Review, you must file your intent by 1:00 p.m. on Monday, August 20, 2018.
Open Book Monday, July 23, 2018 from 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. (Other times available by appointment.)


August 22, 2018
May 8, 2018
September 12, 2017
August 23, 2017
May 18, 2017
May 24, 2016
May 27, 2015

June 29, 2015
May 19, 2014
July 22, 2014
May 16, 2013

July 30, 2013